Consumer Electronics

You've developed a truly attractive, innovative, and competitive product, but no one seems to be interested in it? Maybe this is simply due to an unfortunate translation of your product's documentation. Think about it: If the bewildered customers gets their hackles up by just reading the package text and the frustrated product testers decide to dispose of the cryptic manual and do something reasonable instead you might not be able to yield the fruits of success. And all this after you've invested a whole lot of efforts, energy and – last but not least – money in the development and production of your product!

 

Well then, maybe this is the moment to stop, consider, and refrain from accepting suspiciously cheap translation offers or even machine-generated translation scripts and to contact me to discuss the translational prerequisites. Let's take a look at your product's documentation and existing software strings, discuss what we can do to emphasize the advantages of your product, and arrange the user interface and documentation texts in a clear and comprehensible manner – in source AND target language.

 

The printed and virtual product documentation represents the first impression of your product, and the effect of this first impression is almost irreversible. After all, who likes to buy a product that remains a mystery even at second glance? So, if the product testers are already getting grumpy when reading the table of contents of the product documentation, their assessment of your product might turn out to be very unsatisfactory – despite all of its advantages and finesse.

 

The one-time costs for a translation are straightforward calculable. The consequences of an unfortunate first appearance – especially when massively and rapidly distributed via the internet – are definitely unforeseeable.

 

I'm looking forward to getting to know your product and your translation needs. In the meantime, I will take great joy in finding such gems of technical translations (please click on the image to enlarge and fully):

Btw: This product represents a DVD, replaying an infinite loop of a chimney fire and featuring optionally selectable ambient music (dinner and polar bear fur are not part of the product features).

Consumer Electronics

Sie verfügen über ein wirklich attraktives, innovatives und wettbewerbsfähiges Produkt, aber niemand scheint sich dafür zu interessieren? Vielleicht liegt es ja einfach nur an der verunglückten Übersetzung der Dokumentation? Wenn sich dem ratlosen Kunden beim Lesen des Verpackungstextes die Nackenhaare sträuben und der entsetzte Produktetester die kryptische Gebrauchsanleitung frustriert in die Ecke wirft und sich lieber anderen Dingen zuwendet, drohen Ihnen die Früchte des Erfolges zu entgleiten. Und dabei haben Sie doch bereits so viel Mühe, Energie und - nicht zuletzt - Geld in die Entwicklung und Produktion investiert!

 

Vielleicht also ist dies ein guter Moment, um innezuhalten, auf suspekt günstige Übersetzungsangebote oder gar maschinell erstellte Übersetzungen zu verzichten und mich zu kontaktieren, damit wir die Übersetzung der Dokumentation und gegebenenfalls der Softwaretexte Ihres Produktes gemeinsam evaluieren und besprechen. So können wir die Produktvorzüge in verständlicher Sprache hervorheben und die Benutzerführung angemessen nachvollziehbar gestalten. Und möglicherweise finden wir auf diesem Wege ja auch noch ein paar Details, die sich in der ausgangssprachlichen Vorlage verbessern lassen.

 

Die gedruckte und elektronische Dokumentation ist die Visitenkarte Ihres Produkts und der erste Eindruck ist nur schwer umkehrbar: Kein Kunde kauft gerne ein Produkt, das sich ihm nicht möglichst umgehend erklärt. Und wenn der Produktetester schon bei der Lektüre der Inhaltsangabe schlechte Laune bekommt, könnte das Urteil über Ihr Produkt trotz all seiner Vorzüge und Raffinessen unangemessen harsch ausfallen.

 

Die einmalige Investition für die Übersetzung ist zumeist überschaubar. Die Folgen des nicht zuletzt über das Internet massenhaft verbreiteten abträglichen ersten Eindrucks sind in jedem Fall unabsehbar.

 

Ich freue mich auf Ihr Produkt und Ihr Übersetzungsanliegen. Und bis dahin erfreue ich mich weiter aufrichtig an solchen Perlen der technischen Übersetzungskultur (für den vollen Genuss lässt sich das Bild per Klick vergrößern):

PS: Bei diesem Produkt handelt es sich um eine DVD, die eine Endlosschleife eines Kaminfeuers und optional zuschaltbare, atmosphärisch passende Musik wiedergibt (Dinner und Eisbärfell sind nicht Bestandteil der Produktfeatures).